Why travel in a weekend?

Image

Key Takeaway:

52 weekends=104 days=3.5 months of holidays in a year!

Vacation shortage? No problem. You can see a lot in a weekend trip.

I started off the blog with an example of how I plan and execute a typical 24 hour weekend trip that includes ~6000 miles of flying. However, I did not explain why I take this pain. Wouldn’t it be much better to take a few days off and travel in a relaxed manner?

I would love to travel slow. In fact, even in these short trips I essentially travel slow. Who wants to fly 6000 miles to just travel for a day? The problem is that most US company employees get only 2-3 weeks of vacations. One long international trip and the vacations go poof. If you have been bitten by the travel-bug like me, one trip is not enough. There is so much to see and experience in this world and life is short. The solution: travel on weekends.

If you ponder to think, there are 52 weekends in a year. That equals 104 days or 3.5 months of holidays! Sure you have get back to your home every 2 days; but you can see a lot of the world in 2 to 2.5 days or 3 days in case of long weekends. That is exactly what I have been doing in the last one year and I hope my experiences will help with your travel plans.

3 thoughts on “Why travel in a weekend?

  1. i’m a big believer in the weekend- trip. Even a few days can change your perspective and make you feel like you’ve really ” gotten away”. In the last year, my boyfriend and I have flown to Vancouver/Whister and Portland for the weekend. We did and saw so much. About monthly we get in the car and do more local weekends away- Vegas, Big Bear, Palm Springs, Santa Barbara, et… Most recently, we went to the UK for six weeks and our entire trip was broken into 3-4 day chunks, as we explored different areas. It’s totally do-able!

  2. Great idea! Make what you do with what you can! I am doing something similar. I am in med school full time. We only get 2 2-week breaks a year and one 3-week break. I am generally at school 6-7 days a week because I also work at the school. We can miss up to 3 classes in a semester, giving me a bit more leeway. So this year I took a 3 week trip (missing first week of class), 2 2-week trips, a one week trip, and a 4 week trip over break (my finals finish early and then miss a week of class). As I get closer to board exams I anticipate less of the longer trips and more of the shorter ones. Satisfying my travel urge so I don’t get TOO stir crazy! Congrats on your blog.

Leave a Reply

